A long and exemplary history
The Carmes Haut-Brion estate goes back to the 16th century and has remained remarkably stable over the years. In 1584, Jean de Pontac, the lord of Haut-Brion, donated a large mill with surrounding meadows and vines to the Carmelite Order. This haven of peace and garden of plenty also had an unlimited supply of pure water thanks to a spring feeding a fountain called d’Eubrion.
The Carmelites remained the sole owners of the estate for over two centuries, which gradually acquired the name of « Carmes Haut-Brion » over the years. They also expanded their land holding to other parts of the Haut-Brion vineyard.
Taken over by the state during the French Revolution, Les Carmes Haut-Brion was sold in 1840 to Léon Colin, a Bordeaux wine merchant and ancestor of the Chantecailles. The Chantecaille-Furt family owned and managed the estate for generations, until quite recently.
A new chapter in the château’s history began in 2010 when it was purchased by the Pichet real estate group, established in the Aquitaine region a quarter of a century previous by Patrice Pichet. The property at this time consisted of 5 hectares of vines as well as beautiful grounds designed by landscape artist Louis-Bernard Fischer in the 19th century. Although this prestigious acquisition was a natural part of the group’s diversification strategy, it also reflected the founder’s passion for Bordeaux wine and his strong belief in the estate’s unique potential.
Encircled by the city of Bordeaux, Château Les Carmes Haut-Brion is a jewel of an estate with an outstanding terroir that is managed with the greatest of care and attention. Furthermore, major investments have been made in the vineyard, cellars, winemaking facilities and work force. This is all part of ambitious plans to realize the full potential of one of the most beautiful estates in the Pessac-Léognan appellation.